Tuesday, July 17, 2007

2007 U.S. Under-18 Select Team Named

On Monday, USA Hockey revealed the 21 players selected to compete in the Ivan Hlinka Memorial tournament, which will be held August 14-18 in Piestany, Slovakia and Hodonin, Czech Republic.

This team is selected based off performances at the recent 2007 USA Hockey Select 17 Player Development Camp, which was held last week in St. Cloud.

There were seven players who are currently committed to various WCHA schools elected to the team. Others, such as Holy Angels' forward Danny Mattson or St. Thomas Academy goaltender Aaron Crandall, may eventually end up verballing / playing for a WCHA school.

G - Brady Hjelle (International Falls) - Minnesota Duluth

D - Jake Gardiner (Minnetonka) - Wisconsin
D - Aaron Ness (Roseau) - Minnesota

F - Mike Cichy (Boston Junior Bruins - EJHL) - North Dakota
F - Nate Dewhurst (Des Moines - USHL) - Denver
F - Jordy Murray (Shattuck-St. Mary's) - Wisconsin
F - Jake Youso (International Falls) - Minnesota

Under-18 Team Announced