Wednesday, September 26, 2007

Grand Forks Herald's annual preseason coaches' poll released

In today's edition of the Grand Forks Herlad, the 37th annual WCHA coaches' poll was released. Not surprisingly, the North Dakota Fighting Sioux were picked to win the league for the first time since the 2000-01 season. UND received 7 of the ten first place votes, with Minnesota picking up the remaining three.

Nine of the ten first place votes for WCHA Player of the Year went to members of the Fighting Sioux. Reigning Hobey Baker award winner Ryan Duncan picked up 5 votes, with fellow juniors T.J. Oshie (3) and Taylor Chorney (1) took the other four votes. Minnesota forward Kyle Okposo also received a vote.

For the Rookie of the Year voting, Wisconsin freshmen Kyle Turris was the clear-cut pick amongst the coaches, as he received 9 of ten first place votes. UND forward Evan Trupp got the other vote.

Courtesy of Brad Schlossman's blog, here are the full results of the poll:

1. UND (7) 79
2. Minnesota (3) 74
3. Colorado College 55
4. Denver 53
5. Wisconsin 52
6. St. Cloud State 43
7. Michigan Tech 41
8. Minn.-Duluth 23
9. MSU-Mankato 19
10. Anchorage 11